cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

640 SID With BW Layer - Multiple Clients?

Former Member
0 Kudos

My company installed SRM (SRM_SERVER 500 SP #7) with the BW layer (BW 350 SP # 14) does it make sense to have a multiple client strategy in the non-productive SRM SIDs? Does anyone have any SAP white papers on client strategy on the new dimension products (BW, CRM, SCM/APO, EP, etc.)? Since I am not a BW developer I am uncertain as to why in BW it only makes sense to have 1 client which I would guess if a new dimension SID has the BW layer active then it would make sense to only have 1 client as well? Any information would be most appreciated.

Accepted Solutions (1)

Accepted Solutions (1)

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi Ken,

I'm not in the BW department but as to my knowledge there is no paper on how to proceed with clients in ND products. The BW single client thing is because of design issues inside BW. Currently in BW you can have only one client. I heard that they are working on it to be able to handle multiple clients. Never the less as BW is now part of the NetWeaver basis you can of course on the same instance use lets say client 100 as BW client and any other client as whatever you else want to do with it. Just keep in mind you will receive errors when trying to access for instance RSA1 in the wrong client.

regards Ingo

Answers (1)

Answers (1)

former_member181887
Active Contributor
0 Kudos

Hi Ken,

SAP NetWeaver BI cannot use multiple client because the objects it creates and uses are client independent. In fact only SAP NetWeaver AS ABAP (usage type AS ABAP) based system offer the potential of a multi- client solution. AS JAVA based applications do hot have a client concept, they tend to have multiple instances (i.e. one per client).