cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Transport changes from an MDM to another

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi:

I am pretty new in MDM. How can I update configuration changes from a Dev system into Production? Are there any way to transport them?.

Thank you in advance

Gonzalo

Accepted Solutions (0)

Answers (1)

Answers (1)

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi,

MDM as of now does not have the transport system like SAP standard transport mechanism. But in general there are 2 ways to that.

1. Using archive and Unarchive the repositories.

2. Using the Master and Slave concepts.

To know more about the above two topics, you can refer to the MDM 5.5 Console guide in service market place.

And also look for the best practices from SAP with respect MDM 5.5 to use the appropriate otion from the above two.

Hope this answers your question.

Thanks and Regards

Subbu

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi,

This is not what we are really looking for.

Imagine we have two machines, one for testing purposes and other which contains productive data. In the first one we have made some changes in the table structure for example adding a new table, and we would like to replecate this change to the production system but maintaining the data it has.

Do we have to replacate the changes manually? Or is there any "automatic" way of doing it?

Thanks and regards

Gonzalo

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi,

When you archive the repository, you will have options to archive only the schema or

entire repository(Structure and Data). By default the option is selected as "Normal", means

it archives the structure and the data.

If at all both the systems you mentioned are always in sync with respect to the data. You can use the archive and unarvhive the repositories from one system to the other system.