cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How to set up MaxDB backup with TSM using BACKINT?

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi,

I have a MaxDB 7.6 running on AIX. We are doing a daily backup to file as of now, but optimally we would like to integrate with TSM via BACKINT. I have read a lot of documentations and postings, but somehow I just couldnu2019t put everything together. Could someone who has done this before please give me step-by-step instructions? Examples, such as Input File and Parameter File, are always appreciated.

I am new to TSM as well. How do I know whether TSM is setup for backing up MaxDB database? Or how do I set it up?

Thanks in advance for your help.

Kuo-Hsiung

Accepted Solutions (0)

Answers (1)

Answers (1)

former_member229109
Active Contributor
0 Kudos

Hello Kuo-Hsiung,

As I understood, you already read the MAXDB documentation.

Could you please let us know what was left unclear for you.

Are you going to connect TSM to MaxDB by using Backint for Oracle?

First, please let us know, if you are going to connect TSM using the TSM client adint2 or using the Backint for Oracle interface.

A) If you are planning to use IBM's adint2 client for Tivoli Storage Manager, for example.

1. Please create the data backup medium with 'Backup Tool' type : TSM

You could create the medium using DBMGUI tool or dbmcli tool + dbm command medium_put. See link:

http://maxdb.sap.com/doc/7_6/d1/b3866c4dc211d4aa1100a0c9430730/content.htm

2. Read the information at "Notes on the Different Types of Data Carriers", link :

http://maxdb.sap.com/doc/7_6/43/d0c45de3f63ac3e10000000a422035/content.htm

3. Configuring the TSM Connection (SAP Library - MaxDB Library) see at

http://maxdb.sap.com/doc/7_6/91/24b968483411d5992500508b6b8b11/content.htm

4. Run the databackup. If it's failed, check errors in the knldiag, dbm.prt & dbm.ebp files.

Check adint2.log file.

B) If you plan a connect TSM to MaxDB by using Backint for Oracle.