Dear SAP,

It seems like you left by themselves,

alone in the dark,

your young community guys

with their SAP Sneak Preview systems

all dead.

Why don't we find anymore

our beloved SIDs (NSP, CTB, J2E....)

in the [minisap|http://www.sap.com/minisap/] license page?

Are you SAP punishing us?

Were we bad guys?

If so, we all must apologize.

I think we've learned the lesson:

you rule, you have the power.

We're just passionate

mortal programmers.

Please, give us back the licenses.

Yours sincerely,

Lost Sheep

Accepted Solutions (0)

Answers (2)

Answers (2)

Former Member
0 Kudos

I need the CTB license...SAP please help!!!

Former Member
0 Kudos

1. I seriously protest to the policy of SAP, minisap was anounced and sold as part of (expensive) books and the short notice period is not decent at all. As a freelance ABAP consultant I heavily depend on minisap to deliver quality to my customers.

2. The expiration is caused by the progress of time, so the solution is to stop and/or reverse time. Set the current date to a point before the expiration date of the license. This can be done manually (Windows: Start> Settings> ConfigurationScreen> Date&Time> Date) before starting SAP Engine or automated (in Start SAP Engine in my case C:\MiniWAS\runBSP.cmd add the MSDOS statement DATE dd-mm-jj as first statement).

Then everything runs smooth except of course testing of applications that are dependent on the progress of the date, but that should be done on operational systems I think.

3. This trick is morally justified by the misbehaviour of SAP is my feeling.

4. I noticed myself to start thinking in terms of "we" (developers) and 'they" (SAP policy makers). We all know where this destructive approach can lead to. I recommend to SAP that their policy makers rethink their License Renewal policy.

former_member184154
Active Contributor
0 Kudos

Jan,