cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Basic (hopefully) EDI question

0 Kudos

I'm very new to XI/PI and am trying to figure out XI's EDI capabilities. We're a small company and trying to decide if XI is the way to go (it's not installed at the moment).

We're trying to do 810 and 850 EDI transactions and there's no strong requirement on how that has to happen.

One consultant recommended I get a license for "EDI Engine for Consumer Products, the 'SAP XI Adapter for EDI'" Which he seemed to think SAP sold.

Another consultant said SAP XI Server didn't come with (or sell) an adapter and said I had to get a 3rd party tool like the SeeBerger EDI adapter or use something separate like Gentran..

Can someone untangle this for me? Is there an EDI adapter that comes with XI Server that would work?

Thanks,

Lee

Accepted Solutions (1)

Accepted Solutions (1)

Former Member
0 Kudos

>>Is there an EDI adapter that comes with XI Server that would work?

Sorry,there isn't any EDI adapter that comes along with SAP XI,you need to buy third party adapters like Seeburger to handle EDI messages.

we are doing lots of EDI transactions and are using Seeburger along with XI.works for all 810,850 etc

Thanx

Aamir

Answers (10)

Answers (10)

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi,

Here is an update to the aedaptive link mentioned elsewhere in this thread:

http://www.aedaptive.com/index.php/solutions/edi-for-sap-netweaver

Gordon

0 Kudos

Thanks to everyone for the feedback.. I'm not sure which direction we're going in, but these are some good options to look at and I'm slightly less confused.

Lee

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi Lee,

maybe you should consider Seeburger's standalone B2B solution BIS as well.

http://www.seeburger.com/b2b-gateway-overview/

It can be cheaper and more convenient solution than XI with third party EDI adapters.

Regards

Naycho

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi Lee,