SAP for Utilities Discussions
Connect with fellow SAP users to share best practices, troubleshoot challenges, and collaborate on building a sustainable energy future. Join the discussion.
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Are there any technical Differences between stanard R3 and ISU

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hello everyone,

I have recently been speaking to a client who is running ISU. They are asking for assistance with thier landscape from a technical perspective (BASIS and DB). i.e. monitoring db growth, reorgs, etc.

Now, I have been working in BASIS for over 10 years now, and am very comfortable with the above rols. My question however is - are there any "technical" differences between the standard SAP system, and ISU? or are the differences mainly seen on the functional side?

Thank you very much for any insight any of you can provide.

Kind regards

Richard Rog

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Former Member
0 Kudos

There are specifics, depending on a company size, business complexity, customer database volume, market deregulation, number of external systems to communicate.

1. Large data volume. Certain tables can be really big - readings, load profiles, biling documents, accounting documents, some others. So their growth should be closely watched. They should be kept operational for a rather long time. Later on archived - never deleted.

2. Extensive use of background batch (mass) processing for reading, billing, printing, dunning, etc. There are specific programs for parallel processing. Usually these programs are run overnight.

3. Certain interfaces with external systems to monitor. To name a few: external printing system, energy market partners, meter reading systems, general ledger, business warehouse, CRM.

4. Certain middleware. For example, of SAP CRM.

View solution in original post

6 REPLIES 6

Former Member
0 Kudos