cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

SAP NetWeaver MDM - Project and Bachelor Thesis

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hello,

I am a German student of business information systems. I will write my project and bachelor thesis about u201Chow to synchronize and interchange the master data of an existing non-sap portal, with an existing sap erp systemu201D.

Therefore I would like to use the SAP NetWeaver Platform with SAP NetWeaver MDM. The thesis shall consist of two parts. First, the project thesis shall contain the requirements analysis and the specification. The bachelor thesis shall contain the implementation of these systems.

But there is one big problem. Is there any possibility to get SAP NetWeaver for educational propose, e.g. for free or for a free trial? At the download area of the sdn webpage, I found an SAP NetWeaver 7.0 u2013 Java Trial Version. Does this NetWeaver-Version include the Master Data Management Component? Does I need any other SAP-Systems to exchange the Master Data between these two Systems?

Thanks a lot,

Christian

Edited by: Christian Beining on Jun 26, 2008 6:28 PM

Accepted Solutions (0)

Answers (1)

Answers (1)

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi Christian,

you can not download MDM from SDN but there is a trial version available for SAP customers (I think for a 3 month trial period). If you have access to a SAP ERP system in your company it should be no problem for them to get the trial version. As far as I know MDM isn't included in the NetWeaver trial versions.

MDM works with a port concept, that means MDM imports and exports data from specific file paths on the mdm server. So if you want to transfer data from/to other systems then you might need additional software like SAP PI (former known as XI) which can map and distribute this data to other systems, especially when you have to connect to a SAP ERP system.

Hope that helps. Regards, bd

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hello bd,