Application Development Discussions
Join the discussions or start your own on all things application development, including tools and APIs, programming models, and keeping your skills sharp.
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Creating Roles for HR,FICO etc.

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi Security Experts,

I am new to hard core security and really do not know much except for the basics.

I have a requirement where in i have to create roles for different modules like SD,MM,HR and FICO. I do not have any requirement specifications from the bussiness, but all they want is that these consultants should not be able to acces the SAP basis T-codes. this is kinda basic security what they are looking for.

I have tried many ways but i am not able to achieve it. The ways i did are...

1. Copied all individual sap standard roles which belong to each of the modules like HR etc to another role like Z_HR... individually... there are like 300 for each module... and i am tired. In these newl created role i have checked S_TCODE for any basis t-codes. It is killing time. Then i added these roles into a composite role. Till now i am not even done with one.

2. I have added all the transaction codes related to each module into a role. The problem here is the users are not able to access the backend... this was a complete diaster...

Now i am thinking if i can change the Profile SAP_ALL by coping it to another new name and then taking out all the basis t-codes from it.

Can anyone help me with this issue cos this is going on since the past couple of months and i am not unable to get over with it.

Please try to walk me through this.

Thanks in advance.

9 REPLIES 9

Former Member
0 Kudos

Taking out the tcodes from a copy of SAP_ALL is not enough, by a longggg way.

So that they cannot easily bypass their own security restrictions or access basis type functionality, try start with the following: