cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Upgrading from DCOM to .Net Connector

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi All,

We currently use DCOM with SAP 4.6c and use asp and VB for the web interface. We are upgrading to ECC6 and I believe that DCOM is not supported by SAP anymore. Can we use DCOM with ERP6,if so what are the steps we need to take to make sure it works. If we have to move to .Net, what are the pitfalls, does VB code require lot of changing? The problem is we need to do it in the shortest time as this is a major hurdle in our SAP upgrade. And also I've no experience in this area. I would greatly appreciate if any one can please point me in the right direction.

Prompt response will be very much appreciated.

Thanking you all in anticipation.

Regards.

Accepted Solutions (1)

Accepted Solutions (1)

Former Member
0 Kudos

Thanks Rajani!

But please reward me with Forum Points, remember?

Perhaps a... full one?

Answers (2)

Answers (2)

Former Member
0 Kudos

Rajani, if you are still unaware with webservices, and if using connector will be your preference, then there are two options for it.

The first option is to use .NET connector and Visual Studio 2003. But this one is an obsolete solution, since most of us are not using that version of Visual Studio anymore.

And the second option is to use Softwise's SAP Explorer & Proxy generator. This is the solution that I provide for most of the postings here in this forum, so I think you can check them for further solution (but if you want to I can describe it again here).

The final decission is on you, whether you want to use Web Services or stick with the Connectors world we all know and love J

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi Rajani,