cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Master data management limitations.

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi,

I am fairly new to MDM and have a question regarding MDM capabilities.

1 . Is there limitation on the type of master data that can be controlled via SAP MDM. I saw couple of presentation which says that SAP MDM can help with following master data types : Material, Employee, Customer and vendor. <b>Does that mean , that only these four categories of master data can be controlled via SAP MDM.</b>

Also if its possible to create structure for any kind of master data type from SAP R/3 , Can anyone help me with the process to be followed.

Thanks & Regards

-Praveen

Accepted Solutions (1)

Accepted Solutions (1)

Former Member
0 Kudos

Praveen,

There is no restriction as such that you can use MDM only for specific Master Data objects. The repositories for the four objects that you have mentioned are delivered by SAP.

If you want to have your own Master Data object, you will have to design your repsitory by your own. That is nothing but to desing a database which will hold the data for your Master data object.

You can create any table in MDM. You can log on to the console, create a new repository and create tables for that repsository.

Regards,

Ravi

Note : Please reward the posts that help you.

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi All,

Is there anybody in the group who can give me some insight on how to use MDM for management of Financial Hierarchies, chart of accounts, G/L accounts etc. for a Global implementation ? We are planning to have one point of contact for any creation/modification of this data and would then liek to syndicate it to other SAP instances.

I can be written directly at stanroody@yahoo.com

Thanks in advance,

Stan

Answers (1)

Answers (1)

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi Praveen