Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Calling SAP RFC from Share point applications or Microsoft Applications

former_member192283
Participant
0 Kudos

Hi

I have requirement of calling SAP RFC's from Share point applications from Microsoft.

Cany any body tell me what is the procedure for calling the RFC's from the Share point applications.

Because of i am new to this, step by step procedure is appriciated

Thanks &Regards

Vijay

Edited by: Vijay Krishna Meda on May 29, 2008 7:15 PM

Accepted Solutions (0)

Answers (2)

Answers (2)

Former Member

Hi,

it depends on what version of SharePoint you are running, if you are on SharePoint 2007 you can use the BDC (Business Data Catalog) for calling the RFCs/BAPIs form the SAP system if you expose them as a Web Service. I would recommend taking a look to the paper http://download.microsoft.com/download/b/c/1/bc1939d9-638f-4053-b602-4258f18bb683/CB_045_Interoperab..., here you will find a detailed walkthrough how to use the BDC for integrating SAP into SharePoint. In case you are connecting to an older SAP system (before WEB AS 6.40) you would have to create a Web Service Layer between the BDC and the SAP system, that can be done by using BizTalk, XI, the .NET connector, the WCF LOB Adapter from Microsoft, ...

- Juergen

former_member192283
Participant
0 Kudos

Hi Jürgen Daiberl,

Thanks for your valuble reply,

Basically i am experienced in SAP portal in java platform. AS my client has requirement of accessing the RFC's from the share

point server. I have started working on this.

Basically i am not a Mircrosoft person to give more clarity for them. But according to my knowledge i have proposed the following two options .

1) Using SAP .Net Connecter.

2) Using Webservice .

But u have given idea to implement using the BDC (Business Data Catalog) for calling the RFCs/BAPIs form the SAP system if you expose them as a Web Service.