cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

ESOA...... For Beginners....

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hello friends,

I am a beginner in SAP. I want to explore the area of Enterprise SOA. Cany you guys help me how to approach this subject.

Things I would like to know :

1> How it began?

2> Where we are now?

3> How it is going to shape up tomorrow's business.

Any helpful answers will be rewarded with points.

Thank You

Avik

Accepted Solutions (1)

Accepted Solutions (1)

gaurav_modgil
Participant
0 Kudos

Hi Avik,

As of Late a Lot of Questions are being asked on The need of yet another new Paradigm for SAP: ESOA

My viewpoints on the same are as follows.

1. "HOW" or more importantly "WHY" it began?

Enterprise SOA Began as an Effort by SAP to make its Solution More Process Oriented, Thus enabling business network transformation and operational excellence at the same time.What we mean by Process oriented is that we concentrate more on the Business Process in Question, rather than the individual system which answers a portion of out business requirements. Most of the Time Business requirements are not restricted to a Single Module. For a Sales Person to work effectively, not only does he need to create a sales order in R3, but he needs to look after the customer complaints etc (CRM Jumps in), Also he needs to be aware of his own performance (BI jumps in). Older transaction based approach was not fulfilling this complex interrelated requirement.

As of ESOA all the Systems Define the Operations as Services declared in ESR. Any Business application makes use of these services from one or more System as per the requirement. The following diagram makes understanding this scenario easier.

By Centralizing the Services at one Location (ESR) we get to concentrate more on the core business process in question.

2. How it is going to shape up tomorrow's business?