Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

DMS Installation

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi,

I am new to DMS.

I have few questions.Please clarify

1. What is DMS exactly.Is it part of Knowledge Management.

2. If it is part of KM can we install it together with EP?

3. Can we install it on the same server on ECC or APO or SRM.

4. What kind of hardware you suggest if we install it with any other server mentioned above.

Please reply.

Thanks a lot.

Regards,

Abhilasha

Accepted Solutions (1)

Accepted Solutions (1)

Former Member
0 Kudos

hi,

1.DMS is document management system which deales with all types of Documents which u use in ur day to day business and u want to keep them for record purpose or future reference. DMS is cross component application which is no where depends on ur enterprise structure, and its not a part of ur KM

2. Yes u can integrate DMS with EP to access Documents through Web

3.Yes u can install on ECC server

4.As DMS is part of ur R/3 server and u dont need any special hardware, but if u want to keep all ur documents in content server then u need to calculate the size required, and its depends on again ur legacy document size, future plan to use(In termas of yrs), avg increase of documents/yr, finaly the application types which u want upload(Jpg, cad, docs, pdf, tiff etc)

award points if useful

regards

Sham

Former Member
0 Kudos

hi Sham,

Thanks for your reply.

just to consolidate.I can install DMS on ECC server.Or it directly gets installed when we install ECC.I think it gets install just we need to do some config changes.

"if u want to keep all ur documents in content server then u need to calculate the size required, and its depends on again ur legacy document size, future plan to use(In termas of yrs), avg increase of documents/yr, finaly the application types which u want upload(Jpg, cad, docs, pdf, tiff etc)"