cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Problems with tutorial: "Creating a Web Dynpro Tree"

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi!

I'm a rookie and therefore I'm practicing on compleating some tutorials like "Creating a Web Dynpro Tree" (https://www.sdn.sap.com/irj/sdn/go/portal/prtroot/docs/library/uuid/f0ec6622-8da5-2a10-349b-868b6a553efa)

I did just as the tutorial told me to (I think) but still I get a java.lang.NullPointerException when I deploy and run my application.

In the bold line is where it is something wrong:

public static void wdDoModifyView(IPrivateTreeView wdThis, IPrivateTreeView.IContextNode wdContext, com.sap.tc.webdynpro.progmodel.api.IWDView view, boolean firstTime)

{

//@@begin wdDoModifyView

if (firstTime) {

IWDTreeNodeType treeNode = (IWDTreeNodeType) view.getElement("TreeNodeType");

/* parameter mapping from parameter "path" to

• parameter "selectedElement"

*/

treeNode._mappingOfOnAction()._addSourceMapping("path", "selectedElement");

• parameter "element".

*/

treeNode._mappingOfOnLoadChildren()._addSourceMapping("path","element");

}

//@@end

}

What I don't understand is what the function/meaning of the parameter path is. The parameters selectedElement and element I do recognize and have written. And I don't understand why there is a difference between the two underscored line of code (see above) even though the comments claim that it does the same kind of mapping.

Best regards

/Johan

Accepted Solutions (1)

Accepted Solutions (1)

Former Member
0 Kudos

I never saw a method named "_addSourceMapping()".

Verify that the TreeNodeType instance has exactly the same ID (case-sensitive) than given in the string literal. The "path" parameter will give you the context path describing the tree node. Alternatively you can use the (implicit) parameter named "nodeElement".

Armin

Former Member
0 Kudos