cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Filtering value help

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi All,

I am new to Visual Composer and we are trying to implement a value help which will be filtered on the users previous selection. For e.g. on the first selection screen user selects the department # then he will enter a material. Now the material value help should only show the materials from the department he selected already. Is there any way to filter the value help depending on the users previous selection of the dept #?

I have tried to create a query which shows the material numbers filtered by the dept number and added that as a value help. But I can not pass the dept # to the value help iView . I am not sure this is the correct approach or not.

Thanks!

Anand

Edited by: Anand Habbu on May 13, 2008 5:13 PM

Accepted Solutions (0)

Answers (1)

Answers (1)

Former Member
0 Kudos

Anand,

this really depends on your scenario i will try to illustrate.

if you have a parameter called department number this is being populated by the user or automatically and you have a second service which will be the value help service, it should have an input parameter which is the dept_id hence you can pass this parameter to the input of this service and match the parameter with the relevant fields in that port.

Regards,

Ahmed Salah

Former Member
0 Kudos

Ahmed,

You are right on the first query box/service we are showing all the department numbers a user can see and he can make one dept# selection from the list which is passed to the second form view where the user will enter material. In this form we are trying to provide a value help of the material for the user. In current model I am seeing all the materials from all the departments when I click on a value help where as I would like to only see the materials from the dept# I have selected in the previous selection. I hope this explains our scenario in better manner to you.

Thanks!

Anand

mh97