cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Different actions based on different drop down selection

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi,

I am new to WebDynpro so still getting to used to the differences with what I am used to. My question is this:

Is it possible to create a drop down list (by key) in a top view that allows the user to display one of three views in the bottom view? I know it is possible if I add a button, but I want it to look like one form so that the user is unaware of the difference. The "logical" way to me would be to have an action created for each option in the drop down list, but this does not seem possible. Any suggestions on how I could do this?

Thanks,

Helen

Accepted Solutions (1)

Accepted Solutions (1)

Former Member
0 Kudos

As already explained by other posters, this is possible:

Define an action with a parameter "selectedKey" of type string.

Bind the DropDownByKey.onSelect event to this action.

Map the event parameter "key" to the action parameter "selectedKey" by writing this line of code inside method wdDoModifyView():

if (firstTime)
{
  IWDDropDownByKey dd = (IWDDropDownByKey) view.getElement("<ID of your drop-down>");
  dd.mappingOfOnSelect().addSourceMapping
  (
    "key", /* event parameter name, see JavaDoc */
    "selectedKey" /* action parameter name */
  );
}

The effect of this mapping is that at runtime, the action handler parameter "selectedKey" contains the key that has been selected from the drop-down list.

In the action handler, you can navigate to the view that corresponds to the selected key by calling the outbound-plug to this view. These firePlug* methods will be generated by the framework, if you have defined the corresponding navigation links in the view modeller.

But: I would not use at all a drop-down list to switch views because this will not match most user's expectation. Links are more appropriate to indicate navigation to other views.

Armin

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi Armin