cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Needs guidance in setting direction!!!

Former Member
0 Kudos

I am basically a Mainframe Developer/Analyst and have IBM DB2 DBA Certification. I have decided to shift into SAP XI area and preparing for Certification.

I would like to focus on some other related areas apart from XI. My idea is to learn ABAP (I heard it's similar to COBOL and won't take much time), MDM.

Please suggest me based on your experiences, what areas I can focus based on my previous experience. Also suggest where can I find related information.

Thank you very much in advance for all info and I assure will be generous in awarding points.

Accepted Solutions (1)

Accepted Solutions (1)

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi,

I feel more comfortable in answering your question as have knowledge/experience with all three areas mentioned by you(ABAP, XI and MDM).

As you are already learning XI, you may also want to focus on ABAP as well. This is a very good combination and to start with you may not find problems because of the similarity of the syntax.

Personally, I feel the following:

1. XI

Knowledge of IDocs(and ofcourse BAPIs&RFCs) and their configurations. Consider an example where you are extracting data from R/3 and sending to another system: You may have to create an extraction program in ABAP, create IDoc types, message types etc, if the standard IDocs are not available. The same process will be applicable for both Inbound/Outbound scenarios.

2. MDM

I feel understanding of the master data and business processes involved is a must in the successful execution of an MDM project. Learning the tool may not be difficult, but understanding the master data is more important. So, please try to evaluate yourself on "Am I a pure techie or I also have some understanding of business?". This may help you.

As suggested by others, please refer to some basic documentation also.

Regards,

Rajani

Answers (2)

Answers (2)

Mark63