Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

New at MaxDB, elementary questions

former_member84399
Participant
0 Kudos

Dear all,

I have some elementary questions on MaxDB running on Windows platform. I had it installed as part of a Content Server Installation. I have a lot of experience with Oracle and I am trying to relate what I know on Oracle to MaxDB

1. I want to schedule automatic periodic data backups ( say daily at 20:00 ). Can this be done from the database Manager? If not, how is it possible on Windows

2. I have already scheduled Autolog Backups but I am not sure what the significance of this is: Is this the equivalent of the "Archive mode" in Oracle or the equivalent of the "Archive Log backup (brarchive)" in Oracle?

3. Why do I have to deactivate the automatic log backup in order to take a manual log backup?

4. I do not understand the concept of the parallel medium(s). Why back up on a parallel medium ?

Many thanks

Andreas

Accepted Solutions (1)

Accepted Solutions (1)

lbreddemann
Active Contributor
0 Kudos

> Dear all,

Hi Andreas.

> I have some elementary questions on MaxDB running on Windows platform. I had it installed as part of a Content Server Installation. I have a lot of experience with Oracle and I am trying to relate what I know on Oracle to MaxDB

>

That's the "classic" setup. Please don't try to move-over your Oracle-Experience to MaxDB.

There are many things that work very different in both dbms.

A first entry into the MaxDB-Topic should be done via the SDN WIKI on MaxDB [https://www.sdn.sap.com/irj/sdn/wiki].

> 1. I want to schedule automatic periodic data backups ( say daily at 20:00 ). Can this be done from the database Manager? If not, how is it possible on Windows

>

The DBMGUI is not a scheduler - so you might want to use the NT Scheduler.