cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

BI Career Advice

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hello Experts,

I am looking for some general BI-related career advice.

I am currently a BI report writer with minimal IT experience (I have only been using BI for one year). I am interested in pursuing a masters degree to gain the appropriate knowledge to further my career, working towards becoming a BI developer.

Can you suggest any graduate programs, SAP training, or literature? What steps should I take to get started? I don't know where to begin!

Thanks for your advice,

Kathryn

Accepted Solutions (1)

Accepted Solutions (1)

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi,

I am SAP, Germany certified consultant in BI 7.0 as well as MM (ECC 5.0).

SAP started with OLTP (online transaction processing) which is in other way known as R/3 System.

Till today most of the Tier-1 companies have laready implemented R/3 system. Most of the Tier-2 companies have already started implementing .

Because of price contraints and competions, Tier-3 and below companies are not very much attractive for top IT companies. Hence the quality of work and recognition will not be much in future in R/3 jobs.

In the year 2000, SAP has come up with Enterprise Data Warehousing which is now coupled with Planning to form Business Intelligence (BI).

BI essentially deals with OLAP (Online Analytical processing).

This means it deals with Analysis with Historical data most efficiently. As such strategies are adopted on the basis of this analysis.

To concise, R/3 system in SAP eliminates requirement of many junior staff in accounts, sales, purchase, stores,costing. Whereas BI has started eliminating requirement of many managers. When BI is implemented, CEO of a company can himself do a lot.

In many tier-1 companies BI still have to be implemented as they have started realising managers are too expensive.

For futuristic point of view learning more and getting certified by SAP in BI would be beneficial.