cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How to determine which adapter to be used in a scenario

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi All,

I am new to XI and have some very basic knowledge about it.

I wish to know if I need to send data from a legacy(system A) to SAp (system B) how do I know what adapter to use. Should I use file, idoc ,JMS etc adapter.

Is there a specific guide which I can use to know which adapter should be used in which conditions.

Appreciate if you could guide me to some relavent weblog/steps.

Thanks

Shirin

Accepted Solutions (1)

Accepted Solutions (1)

Former Member
0 Kudos

From you legacy system to XI:

There are possibility to use File Adapter, or JMS adapter etc..

From XI to SAP system, There are possibilities to use

IDOC, RFC and ABAP Proxy

You need to have discussion with consultant who are work in other systems, to see transport protocol their system support.

Only after that, we can suggest further solutions for you.

Regards.

Liang

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi,

The adapter to be used is decided more from the capability of the legacy application

1. SAP

Proxy, IDoc, xml file, RFC

2. Internet application - SOAP, HTTP

3. Database - JDBC

4- Webservice - SOAP

Regards

Vijaya

Former Member
0 Kudos

Thankyou All,

Really appreciate all your help and guidance.

Am going through some weblogs as mentioned by you. Shall revert if I am stuck with HOW part.

Thanks again

Shirin

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi Shirin,

Before u start developing the objects in SAP-XI,kindly go through the below mentioned blogs which would definitely help u in the road ahead.These blogs are meant for the freshers to XI like u...

/people/sravya.talanki2/blog/2006/12/25/aspirant-to-learn-sap-xiyou-won-the-jackpot-if-you-read-this-part-i

/people/sravya.talanki2/blog/2006/12/26/aspirant-to-learn-sap-xiyou-won-the-jackpot-if-you-read-this-part-ii