cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Need clarification for these names, R/3, WAS, NetWeaver

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi All

It's my first time posting question here, though I have used/developmented on SAP systems for 2+ yrs. The question may sound silly, but it indeed confused me a lot.

Thanks in abvance for any response for it.

From what I knew, the SAP backend system was once called R/3, or R/3 Enterprise. So we have SAP 4.6C R/3, SAP4.7 R/3. Then later it came WAS, such as WAS 6.20, WAS 6.30. Then the NetWeaver came, such as NW04, NW04s.

For these versions, the upgrade path is as folloing:

R/3 4.6C-->4.7

WAS 6.20>6.30>6.40

NW 2004-->2004s.

Is it true that R/3 4.7 is the same as WAS 6.20, and WAS 6.40 is the same as NW04?

Thanks again for any input

Xueqing

Accepted Solutions (1)

Accepted Solutions (1)

former_member181887
Active Contributor
0 Kudos

Hi Xueqing,

First of all, sorry for any confusion that we have caused you. I hope I can give you an answer that will clear up the confusion. Sorry, but it is a long explanation of the development of two application solution but history tends to be very long winded!

It is <b>not</b> true SAP R/3 Enterprise equals SAP Web AS, and I'll hopefully explain why:

In the beginning (at least in the client server world) SAP only ship SAP R/3. The technology layer under SAP R/3 was called SAP Basis. There was only SAP Basis under SAP R/3.

SAP then started to deliver other software solutions that were not included in or built on the SAP R/3 software. These included SAP Business Information Warehouse, SAP APO, SAP SEM, SAP CRM, and the list goes on.

These solutions needed to run on technology layer (like SAP R/3 did). SAP Basis was the obvious choice for this because of the common technology layer providing DB/OS abstraction and a coding environment.

<b>~2001:</b>