cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Beginner-Tutorials / HowTos: JDBC + Web DynPro

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hello dear community members!

I'm going to make my diploma thesis about a dynpro application I will develop, but I still don't know the exact topic. So I want to get familiar with the terms used in SAP and play around a bit with the devstudio (7.1CESP3).

I already know some c#-programming and had (morte or less deep) java-lessons during my studies, so I have something (quite small, yes) to build on.

Since I'm completely new to the whole SAP-topic I need a lot of help and beginners tutorials. I already found a nice guide about a first dynpro-application (hello-world-like) which uses 2 views. I enter a username in the first one and by clicking on Go the second view is called and dynamically generated including the username from the first view.

So far so good. This works fine for me, I can deploy, learned some basics, got into Java again and so on.

In my next step I'd like to make a somewhat larger application, like employee-administration or a little librarian application. For this I need a place where I can store the data, e.g. employee name, address, employer-id and so on.

But after creating some views I realized that I have no idea about how I can permanently store data in my application.

I was told I couild + should use a simple database called HSQLDB, which I installed locally. I tested it using a simple Java-Application and it works.

When I search for JDBC + Dynpro here at SDN I find a lot information but they all seem to be for older SAP-versions or are more advanced.

1. How can I implement the funcionality in my DynPro-App? Is there a good tutorial on this?

2. How can I achieve that this database starts remotely on the SAP-AS? In my Java-Test-App I connected to localhost:port

3. Do I need extensive knowledge about using Beans? I don't have, but it seems I should.

4. a lot more questions will develop later...