cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Main table and Lookup table relation

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi All,

I am just a beginner and trying to understand the very basics of MDM.

In a typical scenario given in sap.help it is told that the Main table(eg Product table) and the Lookup table(Manufracturers table) has a Many -to-one Relationship.

I think this can also be a many-to-many relation as there can be a combination of products getting manufractured in many places.

Is it said just to make us understand the realtionship ?

And also let me know if this lookup tables are just as check tables.

pls help me understand.

regards,

krishna.

Accepted Solutions (1)

Accepted Solutions (1)

Former Member
0 Kudos

Yes You are right Krishna, Main table can be linked to many lookup tables.

There is lookup (flat) and (multi-valued) also. Also lookup tables are just as check tables.

Just create a lookup table.

Create a filed in main table.

Select its type, you will see all the lookup options.

Link the lookup table to that particular field.

I hope it will help,

+ An

Answers (1)

Answers (1)

Former Member
0 Kudos

Krishna,

There is many-to-one relationship because a repository can have only one main table but lot of lookups. and now a main table can have multiple fields of lookup types.

And because of only one main table there is no possibility of many-to-many relationship.

Yes in one sense these are like check tables because they refer to a main table field. and when you view data in DM then it comes from different lookup tables and main table fields.

Rewards if helpful.

BR,

Alok

Former Member
0 Kudos

yeah i accept that there wil only be one main table ,then it should be One-to-many relationship.which cannot be exist.

And coming to my question:

Product tab 1 -

> Lookup(1...........n)

(main table)

in the above case it shld be One-to-many.

and if possible can you give an example with some values for main table and Lookup tables.