Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Question Using CMS to transport objects

Former Member
0 Kudos

I'm using CMS Moving Configuration Objects between Environments

I'm new to CMS.

Step 1: In my XI DEV environment, I select the scenario that I wish to export to our QAS environment using CMS:

The conclusion of this step creates a transport that the Basis team then uses CMS to import into XIQ.

Step 2: Basis team uses CMS to “import” the transport I created in XI DEV environment into XI QA.

Step 3: In my XI QA environment, I view the transport that has been successfully imported into XI QAS. It has only the objects associated with the scenario I exported from XID:

This is where I start to get confused….

Step 4: The Basis team “assembles” the transport in CMS. They are waiting on an “approval” from me before the transport gets loaded to production. In XI QA I now see two transports:

The first transport (with a direction of “import”) was my transport that was created in XID. The second transport (with a direction of “export”) is new. This is probably what is being loaded to XIP. Could this have been created during the “assemble” process within CMS?

This new transport has ALL configuration objects associated with all of the scenarios in XIQ, including the configuration objects from my new scenario.

Is this correct behavior? Should I be passing everything to XI production or just the configuration objects associated with the transport I created in DEV? When using CMS, does it push everything from XI QAS to XI Production?

Thanks

Accepted Solutions (1)

Accepted Solutions (1)

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hello,

there is a blog about this topic:

/people/praveen.mayalur/blog/2007/05/31/configuration-of-cms-in-central-nwdi-sld-to-transport-xi-objects

and the first reference in this blog might also be helpful:

https://www.sdn.sap.com/irj/sdn/go/portal/prtroot/docs/library/uuid/f85ff411-0d01-0010-0096-ba14e5db...

Regards

Patrick

Answers (1)