cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Sales Organisation

Former Member
0 Kudos

HI Experts,

I am a Trainee Fico Consultant & would like to understand the definition of Sales Organisation, Sales Area, Distribution, Division & Setting up of Sales Area.

Please explain the same for me with an example.

Also, if you could send some basic notes on SD for my understanding.

mohit_ohri@rediffmail.com

Points will be assigned.

Thanks

Mohit

Accepted Solutions (1)

Accepted Solutions (1)

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi Mohit,

SALES ORGANISATION: A sales organisation is an organisational unit that sells and distributes products/services, negotiates terms of sale and is responsible for carrying out day to day business transactions.

One or more sales organisation is assigned to a company code but the number of sales.org should be kept to a minimum i.e. one per company code.

Every sales organisation carries its own (customer and material) master data and NO two sales organisations can share a single master data.

DISTRIBUTION CHANNEL: A distribution channel is a channel through which materials/services reach customers – example – wholesale, retail, internet sales etc.

DIVISION: A division is a product range. Divisions are utilized in SD but are defined under logistics general.

A division can be assigned to more than one sales organisation.

SALES AREA: sales organisation + distribution channel + division

A sales area is basically used for reporting purposes. You can define pricing per sales area, or sales information analyses per sales area.

Relationship between sales org and dist. Channel is – MANY 2 MANY.

Relationship between sales org and division – MANY 2 MANY.

Adding divisions doesn’t multiply the MMR views but it does multiply CMR – sales views.

A sales area is mainly used for reporting purposes and defining all data relevant for sales, like pricing and information analysis.