cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

MDM Related queries

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi Gurus

I am a Basis Consultant and new to MDM. I have following doubts. Many may find it very basic, but being new to MDM I want explanation on these.( If I am conecpt wisr wrong please correct me):

1. As per my knowledge MDM Stores Master data in form of repositories coming from various systems ( SRM,ERP etc.). I want to know whenever data is modified ( New product added, new Employee id added etc) , whether this modification takes place in MDM Server or ERP,SRM Server?

2. In either cases what is the frequency of data refresh ? ( Incase its modified in SRM then what is frequency it gets updated in MDM Server or vice versa)?

Thanks in advance.

Points will be immediately awarded.

Accepted Solutions (1)

Accepted Solutions (1)

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hello!

1. It depends on scenario used. In consolidation scenario, for instance, modifications take place in local systems, in centralized management all global properties are modified centrally in mdm and propagated to systems.

2. Data change frequency depends on such factors as business entity type (e.g.Customers, Materials etc), company size, industry and other business driven factors. If data is once changed in system A, there wiil be as many modifications in other systems as many integration interfaces exist between system A and other systems. For instance, if you have centralized management scenario and change record once in MDM and you configured automatic export of data to SRM system it will replicated to you SRM system and changed there once.

Regards,

Vadim

Answers (2)

Answers (2)

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi Sapbasis,

1. As per my knowledge MDM Stores Master data in form of repositories coming from various systems ( SRM,ERP etc.). I want to know whenever data is modified ( New product added, new Employee id added etc) , whether this modification takes place in MDM Server or ERP,SRM Server?