cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

SAPDB 7.4.3 - Creating a database instance from a backup file

Former Member
0 Kudos

hello,

i got a SAPDB 7.4.3 backup file (one single file) from a customer.

for software development i need access to this database, so i installed a SAPDB 7.4.3 server on my computer. i can create new database instances, all no problem. but i can find no way to create a new instance from the backup file like it's possible in mssql server for example. how can i do this?

if it's not possible to create a database out of this single backup file, what do i need to create the database? the whole database folder from the \indep_data\wrk\ folder?

and yes, i tried to understand the documentation, but i didn't get it

all the best

michael

p.s.: i'm a completely newbie to SAPDB ...

Accepted Solutions (1)

Accepted Solutions (1)

Former Member
0 Kudos

I think you can do this if you have a complete databackup with the commandline, using dbmcli DB_ACTIVATE RECOVER <medium_name>.

After recovery you probably need to restart the database.

Hope this helps,

Herman

Former Member
0 Kudos

hello herman,

hm... sorry, but that's not working command line says "unknown command "DB_ACTIVATE".

but at all: what is the <medium_name>? the file name of the backup file? and where shall i execute this command? where to but the backup file? into "indep_data\wrk\"? SAPDB is really confusing ..

michael

Former Member
0 Kudos

Have a look at the documentation, that explains it in more detail :

[http://maxdb.sap.com/doc/7_7/1a/32c42a0fcf40b5b95ff7040a60aa41/frameset.htm|http://maxdb.sap.com/doc/7_7/1a/32c42a0fcf40b5b95ff7040a60aa41/frameset.htm]

Hope this helps,

Herman

Former Member
0 Kudos