cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

NetWeaver architecture concepts - need clarification

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi

I'm relatively new to SAP and trying to wrap my head around some of the concepts from an IT perspective. I'm a developer myself, but like to know how everything hangs together for a bit more depth of knowledge.

Please could someone explain the following concepts to me?

1. How is a SAP system defined? I originally thought this was a fully encapsulated system that could potentially include all relevant components (e.g. ERP, CRM, etc.) that were required. But then I found that CRM is actually installed as a separate system. This has thrown me off a bit. What exactly is a SAP system?

2. What is a Dialog Instance? What is the purpose of it? Is it purely for load balancing requests across multiple servers (either virtual or physical)?

3. Do all Dialog Instances have to be the same within a system? For example, if you have 3 dialog instances (each on their own physical server), must they all have the same software components installed (e.g. Portal, etc.)?

Any general guidance to understanding the architecture of NetWeaver would be greatly appreciated!

I have searched for answers to this in the forum, but didn't find anything suitable. Apologies if this has already been asked.

Thanks

Stuart

Accepted Solutions (1)

Accepted Solutions (1)

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi,

>What exactly is a SAP system?

If you don't tell which kind of SAP system it is, it does not mean a lot.

This may be : R/3 or ECC or PI or EP or CRM or SRM or MDM !

The SAP company used to be nearly a single product software vendor (R/2 then R/3). Nowadays there are plenty of functional software which may be using for each one several technical systems.

For example, we have a Supplier Relationship project. This project uses all these SAP systems : SRM, R/3, XI and MDM-catalog.