cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How is security to organizational units maintained through path to prod?

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi,

I am a security analyst working on a project that will be transitioning our procurement users from EBP to SRM. I am building security roles in SRM for Operational Purchasers and will be restricting access at the "Responsible Purchasing Organization" level (auth object field BBP_PURORG).

I have pointed the authorizations to the appropriate purchasing org's that we want the users to have access to (ex: O 60000110). However I just found out that the organizational ID's to these purchasing org's will not be the same across each environment (Development, QA, Production). I was told by our SA's that the purchasing org data is loaded into each SRM environment directly and that SAP automatically assigns them org ID numbers sequentially. So the value in dev may be different that what it is in cons (dev might have O 60000110 and cons might be O 60000012 for the same purchasing org).

Because the org ID values are not the same in each environment and our security roles are migrated (via a transport) from dev to these other environments...how does SAP handle this discrepancy? Will it automatically adjust the authorization object in the role to point to the correct purchasing org? I'm pretty sure this does not happen because I tried assigning a value in one environment (pathfinding) and then uploading the role into another environment (development) and the org ID number did not change.

Manually modifying the security role in each environment (thereby bypassing change control) is not an option for us. We want to make sure all role changes are made in development and then transported up the normal path to production.