cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Deploy Web Dynpro Applications to QA/Prod from Dev

Former Member
0 Kudos

I am new to Web Dynpro and I am doing deployment for the first time.

What is the procedure to transport Web dynpro applications to QA/Prod from Dev.

I have done development so far and deployed it to Dev system. I have created IViews and am able to use it successully inside Dev portal.

Some basic questions -

I have created my RFC model based on BAPI's in Dev system. The same BAPI's will also exist in QA system.

I am used to Java/.NET application development. When application is deployed to different environment the connection string changes to point to the new environment.

When Web Dynpro app is deployed do we have to change any settings to point to the new system?

Are there any links/ documents that explains the transport process for web dynpro application.

Thanks

Accepted Solutions (1)

Accepted Solutions (1)

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi,

1) I have created my RFC model based on BAPI's in Dev system. The same BAPI's will also exist in QA system.

For this BAPIS to exists to the QA and PROD they need to be transported. Use SE09 from the ABAP stack.

2)I am used to Java/.NET application development. When application is deployed to different environment the connection string changes to point to the new environment

Similarly you need to create the JCO's which you are using in the DEV on both the QA and PROD systems.

3)When Web Dynpro app is deployed do we have to change any settings to point to the new system?

You have to make an PAR(portal archive of the changes you have made in content administrator) so that once this is deployed in QA and PROD you will be able to see your Ivews and Workcenters.

Regards

Ayyapparaj

Former Member
0 Kudos

Ayyaparaj,

That was very clear explanation. I forgot JCo piece that relates to connection string. This should help me move with transport.

Praveen,