cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

CBS build fails with "cannot resolve symbol", model inconsistent?

Former Member
0 Kudos

Good afternoon!

I am new to Web Dynpro and especially there are lots of question marks in my head when I have to deal with DTR, CMS and CBS.

I just finished modifying a WD project and also altered an Adobe interactive PDF and all changes are visible on my local J2EE. After checking in the code into the DTR, I tried to activate the changes but now the build fails, my guess is that the model somehow is inconsistent or outdated, but I'm not sure about that - and I also don't know how to update the model on the CBS or the TEST, QA and PRODUCTION. I once heard that the J2EE instances need to be restarted on a model change but what needs to be done to update the model on the remote machines?

To offer a starting point, these are the first errornous lines in the build log:

[echo] Starting Java compiler
     [javac] Compiling 470 source files to /usr/sap/JDI/JC74/j2ee/cluster/server0/temp/CBS/16/.B/505/t/F6D64EA72AB10DBF48154F123CB07A7A/classes
/usr/sap/JDI/JC74/j2ee/cluster/server0/temp/CBS/16/.B/505/t/F6D64EA72AB10DBF48154F123CB07A7A/gwd/packages/sig/com/mcis/customer/wd/CustomerMain.java:37: cannot resolve symbol
symbol  : class Zu_Mcis_Balancedata_Deq_Input 
import sig.com.mcis.model.Zu_Mcis_Balancedata_Deq_Input;
                          ^ 
/usr/sap/JDI/JC74/j2ee/cluster/server0/temp/CBS/16/.B/505/t/F6D64EA72AB10DBF48154F123CB07A7A/gwd/packages/sig/com/mcis/customer/wd/CustomerMain.java:38: cannot resolve symbol
symbol  : class Zu_Mcis_Balancedata_Enq_Input 
import sig.com.mcis.model.Zu_Mcis_Balancedata_Enq_Input;
                          ^

The model nodes "Zu_Mcis_Balancedata" exist in the local model but somehow they are missing on the CBS.

Thanks for your help!

Best regards,

Sascha

Accepted Solutions (1)

Accepted Solutions (1)

former_member197348
Active Contributor
0 Kudos

Hi Sascha,