cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Table MSEG has two indexes containing a single key. Why? Can I drop them?

Former Member
0 Kudos

I'm a novice to the SAP world but an old hand at managing Oracle databases.

I'm looking to improve the performance of our large ERP system running SAP 4.6C and have found several indexes that have a cardinality of 1. The worst is the MSEG table which has indexes MSEGP and MSEGR each containing a single key (candinality of 1). The table has 110 million rows so, these level 3 indexes take up several GB of space on disk and in the buffer pool - all to store 110 million occurances of the same 1 value. This configurtion is a waste of resources and I'd like to drop them, but would really like to know why they exist in the first place.

Can anyone help?

Accepted Solutions (1)

Accepted Solutions (1)

stefan_koehler
Active Contributor
0 Kudos

Hello Chip,

i had a look at our very old 4.6c ERP system and have found only the MSEG~R index.

This index is for the reservations of materials and it includes the fields:

MANDT and RSNUM.

If i execute the following query to determine the selectivity in our test system (with really not many data):

SQL> select count(*) from SAPSR3.MSEG;
  COUNT(*)
----------

SQL> select DISTINCT(RSNUM) from SAPSR3.MSEG;
422 rows selected.

select count(*) from SAPSR3.MSEG group by RSNUM;
=> 97604

So one value is existing 97604 times and the field has 422 different values.. maybe some histograms are useful... but the index itself looks "logical good".

So i don't really understand your problem... how did you determine the cardinality?

Is the index really so big or are there many freed blocks (for example deleted leaf entries,etc..)?

Have you made an ANALYZE to check the structure (but be careful .. not really an online command)?

ANALYZE INDEX <SAPSID>."MSEG~R" validate structure offline;
select * from index_stats;

or maybe an index btree dump is helpful.

Regards

Stefan