cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

lOOK UPS situation

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi,

i studied all the links regarding LOOK UPS which are provided in the SDN .. but still i did't clear with this information.. when exactly we will go for lookups.. i means in which situation we will go for lookups..( i studyed that lookups will interrupt the mapping and interact with the database and access the data from the database in the mapping time..) but in what scenario we need to get the data from database...give me a simple example..

can any body give me a brief idea abt LOOK UPs..

thanks

babu

Accepted Solutions (1)

Accepted Solutions (1)

Former Member
0 Kudos

Babu,

-->give me a simple example..

Here you go :

Suppose a company A wants to go for SAP Implementation...currently they are maintaining their own code( for material, customer....bla bla..let assume the codes be of 4 char) in their own systems (call these systems legacy).

But in SAP you can maintain the codes up to 10 char (if i am not wrong) ..

Now if you want to integrate your old system with new system ...you need to have a mechanism to match these code and then only send information either way.

for this purpose Lookup is required...

But if you will go for Value Mapping in IR the table will be static and also you cannot maintain the table in Production time...(like you cannot add and delete the value in Production time.. )

So in this case mechanism of DB Lookup type is required where XI will look into the table only at required time and also you can maintain it as you will not be tweaking with XI...you just need to maintain the DB table..use the DB Lookup mapping in

IR and at runtime codes will get converted or checked and the corresponding data can be passed on .

Hope i am clear..

Regards,

Answers (2)

Answers (2)

Former Member
0 Kudos

hi babu,

as u have already gone thru some material, consider this: