cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Scripting in GUI Installation for Vista

Former Member
0 Kudos

I am trying to copy my saplogon.ini file from my server onto the clients when they install the GUI. I can do this via DOS without any problem, but would like to build it into the GUI installation instead. Will be cleaner and hopefully I can make adjustments if I need to easier using this when dealing with Vista. Since I am an AIX administrator along with R/3 Basis, my experience scripting this kind of code is virtually nil. After some help from people on the forum, reading SAP notes and the GUI help, I arrived at the code below that is in my end install section. However my file does not land on the client when I install the GUI. I can't see what is wrong with it and showed it to a few other people and they think it looks ok also. Any help would be appreciated immensely !!!

Lloyd Campbell

-

NwEngine.Context.Log.Write "Event: Copying customized SapLogon.ini"

strSrcFile = NwEngine.Variables.ResolveString("
alphabits\pdrive\sap710\saplogon.ini")

strDstFile = NwEngine.Variables.ResolveString("%USERPROFILE%

\AppData\Local\VirtualStore\Windows\saplogon.ini")

If NwEngine.Shell.FileExist( strSrcFile ) Then

NwEngine.Shell.CopyFile strSrcFile, strDstFile

strIniFile = NwEngine.Variables.ResolveString("%USERPROFILE%

\AppData\Local\VirtualStore\Windows\saplogon.ini")

strCmdLine = "setx /M SAPLOGON_INI_FILE " & strIniFile

bNoWaiting = vbFalse

NwEngine.Shell.Execute strCmdLine, bNoWaiting

End If

Accepted Solutions (0)

Answers (2)

Answers (2)

Former Member
0 Kudos

Good Day

To distribute custom copies of saplogin.ini one does not need to script anything. The SAP GUI installer will do that for you.

Simply place the pre-configured saplogon.ini file in a source folder named custom (i.e. \%SAPSRCDIR%\custom\). Create the folder if you have to.