cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Can I only install WebAs with existing SAP 4.6c system?

Former Member
0 Kudos

Dear all,

I am new to SAP world and familiar with MS .net technology.

We have implmenetded SAP4.6c. So far we expect to look at exposing SAP data to .net web applications, say, display the SAP reports on .net web pages.

We do not want to update the whole SAP 4.6c to Netweave2004. Reading some slides, I suppose we can install a Netweave WebAS 6.40 plus SAP XI along with our existing SAP system and then we could expose the SAP RFC via the web service and then our .net applications can use the web service to display the SAP data/tables on web pages.

So my questions are:

1. This apporach is right or is there better architecture to achieve my objectives?

2. How can just install WebAS 640 standalone without upgrading my legacy SAP4.6c? Is it possible? and I have netweave 2003SR1 dvds, which dvd I should use?

Sorry for my stupid questions and I am really not familaiar with SAP documentation system which is not like MS documentations clear to me.

Thanks for your comments.

Ted

MVP, MS SharePoint Portal Server 2003

Accepted Solutions (1)

Accepted Solutions (1)

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi Ted,

Welcome to SDN.

1. Your SAP 4.6C System will be on some version of WAS (say 6.20 for example) going forward to NetWeaver you can go with WAS 6.40. You can keep SAP 4.6C + WAS (Old Version) intact, and then setup WAS6.40 separately.

2. You need to have a separate setup for a WAS 6.40 and XI. You will need both the CDs and once this server is up and running you will be able to access 4.6C from this. That is not a problem.

Hope this helps you.

Thanks

Kathirvel

Former Member
0 Kudos

Thank you very much for your clear answer.

As you have known I am very new to SAP, pls forgive my stupideness.