Skip to Content

Archived discussions are read-only. Learn more about SAP Q&A

Implementation, Upgrade and Data Migration

Dear SAP Gurus,

I am a SAP Mm consultant and have been working on support project for past 1 year. I have never done and implementation, upgrade or data migration. I have the following questions about them:

1) Implementation: How do we do Implementation? Is there any step wise guide available or we just need to follow the guides available at Building Blocks library and follow it to implement at new place?

2) Upgrade: What are the steps of upgrading and how do we do it? For Ex. How will we upgrade the system from SAP R/3 4.7 to SAP ECC 6.0 . Is there any stepwise guide available with these steps?

3) Data Migration: How to do Data Migration in new system ? Through LSMW? And is it job of technical consultants or does Functional also play the role in it. If yes then what?

Would be thankful to you if you can answer to my questions as in support we are only working on troubleshooting the system and never get any realtime experience on these things. Lets be true never get even knowledge on this.

So it would be great if you can give me detailed answers to my questions.

Thanks & Regards

Manav Anand

Former Member
Former Member replied

Hi,

It can go for several pages to type it down here.

Shall give you some understanding about your questions:

1) Implementation: How do we do Implementation? Is there any step wise guide available or we just need to follow the guides available at Building Blocks library and follow it to implement at new place?