cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

PLM Basic question

Former Member
0 Kudos

Guyz,

i'm new to PLM and have some few quick questions for experts ...Pls do not give me SAP URL link to PLM which i already have....appreciate if you could give your hands-on real experienced/expert comments....

1> is PLM for software products or physical products like say car or any product?

2> has any one used successfully for software products (SAP and non-SAP technologies) ? Can we manage all phases of typical software development lifecycle phases (design, develop, test and deploy) ? does it have inbuilt reports to track project activities, document management stuff etc.....

3> does it come with normal ECC6 or add-on (to be installed separately) ?

4> is it out-of-box web based solution or good-old R/3 look&feel and can be confiured with portal?

appreciate if some one shares their experiences with this product....

thanks

Accepted Solutions (1)

Accepted Solutions (1)

former_member845166
Active Participant
0 Kudos

hi kasu,

This is really very good and basic question..

1..PLM is basicaly products(physical) but now a days it can be used for developement of software products also. we can map the software develo[pement process through PLM.so it not dedicate to Physical products only.PLM has project and program managent module.

2...many software companies are using it for managing their projects and software products.. we can manage the phases of software projects.It provides various kinds of reports. we can customise reports also.

It has cproject suite which is used for project management. which manges projects phase wise. we can mange the project documents in cfolder or DMS.

3..cproject is web based application .It can be used standalone or with ECC 6.

It can be used in CRM platform.

4.it is portal based application.It has integration with SAP r/3 system.

Regards

shiv

Former Member
0 Kudos

shivshankar