Application Development Discussions
Join the discussions or start your own on all things application development, including tools and APIs, programming models, and keeping your skills sharp.
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

When to use structures and when to use Internal tables ?????

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi all, i am a beginner to ABAP/4 language , i have a doubt, i'm having a confusion with Structures and internal tables concepts, i've gone through many books, some of them used internal tables and some used structures while retrieving the data from the data tables, can any one clarify me when to use what ?

Thnx in advance............

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi,

It is very simple,

Structures are used in the select statements if it going to fetch single record for eg. Select * from vbak into wa_vbak where vbeln = xxxxxxxx. in this case there will be only one record for a sales order in vbak(Header table)

Internal tables are used in the select statements if it going to fetch more than one record for eg. Select * from vbap into table i_vbak where vbeln = xxxxxxxx. in this case there will be more than one record for a sales order in vbap(item table).

<b><REMOVED BY MODERATOR></b>

Thanks,

Muthu.

Message was edited by:

Alvaro Tejada Galindo

5 REPLIES 5

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi,

It is very simple,

Structures are used in the select statements if it going to fetch single record for eg. Select * from vbak into wa_vbak where vbeln = xxxxxxxx. in this case there will be only one record for a sales order in vbak(Header table)

Internal tables are used in the select statements if it going to fetch more than one record for eg. Select * from vbap into table i_vbak where vbeln = xxxxxxxx. in this case there will be more than one record for a sales order in vbap(item table).

<b><REMOVED BY MODERATOR></b>

Thanks,

Muthu.

Message was edited by:

Alvaro Tejada Galindo

Former Member
0 Kudos