Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Basic Data

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi Experts,

Im new to work flow.

What is the use of <b>work item text in Basic Data[Version-Independent] Tab.</b>

If im not giving the work item text for particular activity from this work flow means also Im not getting this work item text in business work flow.

What is the significance of it?

Thanks and points assured.

Accepted Solutions (0)

Answers (2)

Answers (2)

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi Jasmine,

This text will be useful when you want to find out any specific work item frm SAP Inbox. Specific Values like Material number etc will help you identify the required work item for particualr workflow instance.

If you do not fill in this value , whatever text you enter at workflow step level will be shown in your SAP inbox when work item is created instead of work item text.

Hope it helps you.

Regards,

Akshay

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi Jasmine

It is the description for relevant steps of the workflow which appears in users' inbox for dialog steps or that can be checked in the workflow log. You can insert runtime values, like purchase order number, etc. for easy identification, etc.

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi Ravi,

Thanks for your quick reply.

But I never seen that the Work item text [Defined in Basic Data] In business work place.

I did the following.

1. I created one Activity for displaying PO. I removed the WI text in Activity strp type.

2. Then it will displays the name of the Activity as the WI text.

3. Then I removed the Name of the activity and Execue --> then it displays the Abberivation of the activity as the WI text.

So I never seen that the Work item text [Defined in Basic Data] In business work place.

What is the main use of it?

Thanks.

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi Jasmine ,

Pls refer to my earlier reply.

If you do not enter WI text, it s bound to use Activty description.

And furher down, if you remove this text , you will see task abbr. in Inbox.