cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

J2EE Developer Migrating to SAP/Netweaver

Former Member
0 Kudos

I am an experienced J2EE developer with over 3 years experience in writing JSPs, servlets, custom tag libraries, etc. I have written web applications that utilize SQL Server, MySQL & HSQLDB. In addition to the programming aspect I am also a pretty well rounded DBA with a healthy SQL background.

I tend to work strictly within the J2EE framework and <b>don't</b> use OR tools like Hibernate or Spring, <b>nor</b> other application frameworks like Struts, Tapestry or JSF. I have multiple custom tag libraries that I've written over the years that I use to speed up application development.

My typical development environment includes using Eclipse with the MyEclipse J2EE plug-in, using Tomcat (for web applications) or JBoss (for Enterprise applications) as the application servers.

I have been asked to join a firm writing J2EE applications (I assume including Portals with iView) but I have not experience with SAP. How steep do you believe would the learning curve be before being a productive developer in this area? What are the biggest differences between developing in a complete J2EE environment vs. developing within the SAP Netweaver environment?

Thanks for your assistance.

Accepted Solutions (1)

Accepted Solutions (1)

Former Member
0 Kudos

Several parts..

I think you can download preview version of Netweaver and judge for yourself. If you browse through help, you will find most of documentation there..

1. From your experience it should no problem getting used to NetWeaver Developer Studio (it based on Eclipse) and to do J2EE (beans, servelets /JSP etc) portion of work.

2. For developing Portal/iViews, HTMLB/DynPro/Portal architecture have some new lingo to get used to. But not complex.