cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Excel and nCo

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi All,

I have managed to create with nCo and VS2003 a call to RFC_READ_TABLE which fills a datagrid which is called from VS2003. What I would like to do is call this from Excel VBA and fill the cells with the returned data. I've got as far as creating the DLL and I can see the objects for the RFC from VBA ok. I thought I would just be able to create an object in the macro like sapproxy1 and call the rfc_read_table method.

The closest I can get is to create a form in my class library and add the sapProxy11 object which references the Destination1 connection as one would do if calling from VS2003. (Please forgive my descriptions as I'm still a newbie here!) In the form I've then created a public sub that calls sapProxy11.rfc_read_table as the form sub can see the rfc there.

Then I create an object in the macro like my class library form and call the public sub but I get the error "key 'Destination1.AppserverHost' does not exist in the AppSettings configuration section"

I guess somehow the connection to R/3 is not being created as it would if I made the call from VS2003?

I also can't help but think I'm going the long way round here!

I still think I should be able to call the RFC in my DLL directly without having to create a form etc. but I suppose I should then create a connection in the macro first??

I was also wondering whether it would be easier to create an Excel add-in with VS2003 and nCo and use this from Excel to achieve the desired result.

Any help greatly appreciated!

Regards,

Grant.

Accepted Solutions (0)

Answers (1)

Answers (1)

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi,

Not sure if I understood your problem correctly. But there are more than one choice to connect to SAP system from Excel VBA-