cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Pass value from Pop up window to main window UI element

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi all,

I want to open a pop up window for selection of text field in main window.

For example, I want to pick a customer from a list. I have a text field. I want to click a button with a company code parameter that pops up a window with customer list (in a table) specific to that company. I will select one of the customers and the text value is passed to customer text field in the main window.

Is this possible? If so

1. How to open a pop window with a attribute passed to filter the list.

2. What is the code to pass the selected value back to the main window.

I badly need to implement this functionality and I am new to Web Dynpro. Any help is appreciated.

Thanks

Accepted Solutions (1)

Accepted Solutions (1)

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi Ravi,

Assume you have 2 views named mainView and popUpView and a common component controller between the two views.

1. Create a value attribute between in your component controller that you need in both the views.

2. Open Data modeler and create a link from mainView to component controller and similarly from popupView to component controller for the context that you need to share in both the views.

3. Bind the same context to your Input UI element in mainView.

3. Now you can set the value of the context in popupView like this from the selected value in table:

wdContext.currentContextElement().set<attributename>(wdContext.node<tablenode>().get<tablenode>ElementAt(wdContext.node<tablenode>().getLeadSelection());

4. Now when you will return to mainView the value would be the one we set above.

Regards,

Murtuza

Former Member
0 Kudos

Thanks chaitanya and Murtuza, the explanations are really helpful. I will try the approach. I appreciate your help.

Ravi

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi,

This is my approach which is somewhat generic.