Application Development Discussions
Join the discussions or start your own on all things application development, including tools and APIs, programming models, and keeping your skills sharp.
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Need to perform Roles/Profile cleanup and documentation.

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hello there, I have recently read through the Authorisations Made Easy guide which helped me a lot in getting started with authorisations. However I am still a bit of a novice.

I have recently been asked to perform a tidy up of the authorisations in our standard three tier 4.6C landscape... but I am not sure where to begin or what approach I should be taking to do the clean up?

What I have noticed is that there seems to be an awful lot of roles/profiles in the Dev system, compared to the QA and Prod systems. A first stab would be to identify roles that are in Dev and QA, that are not assigned to any users in Prod, and then to remove them... does that sound sensible?

Those of you who have experience in this area can you please advice me on the best approach to take?... ideally with step by step instructions as I am still relatively new to authorisations.

Your help here would be much appreciated.

Kind regards

Sharon

Basis Administrator

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Former Member
0 Kudos

Fist of all try to locate OWNERS of roles or Business Areas.

Because the mayor problem in a clean up will be, what you have deleted day one the business wants to use the next day.

So either

A in the support group there will be functional consultants who are responsible for an area, thus are the owners of the processes which is the same as the roles (at least when the design has been built correctly).

B or there are keyusers in the business who hold the aforementioned responsibility.