cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

SAP GUI for HTML (ITS) VS. SAP GUI for HTML (Web As)

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi,

I am pretty new to the SAP world. I read some document from SAP Help Library - it talks about front-application could be in either

· SAP GUI for HTML, based on the Internet Transaction Server (ITS)

OR

· SAP GUI for HTML, based on the SAP Web Application Server (Web AS) Release 6.40 or higher

How can I tell when an application is SAP GUI for HTML (ITS) or when it is SAP GUI for HTML (Web AS)? We're on 640 and ECC 5.0. If a URL link like this:

http://&sap-language=EN/webgui/!&;transaction=SWNWIEX&P_WI_ID=<work item ID>&P_ACTION=EXECUTE&OKCODE=ONLI

Since it has "its" as part of the string - is this a good indication that this application is using the SAP GUI for HTML (ITS) application server?

I would really appreciate if someone can give me a good explanation what's a good way to determine what technolgoy stack that I am using.

Thank you.

Jennifer Tran

Accepted Solutions (0)

Answers (2)

Answers (2)

Former Member
0 Kudos

Thank you.

Former Member
0 Kudos

When the SAP WEBGUI (GUI for HTML) was introduced it was only supported on the Internet Transaction Server (ITS) platform:

(user) --> (SAP ITS WGate) --> (SAP ITS AGate) --> (SAP)

In one of the WAS applications, the AGate component above was incorporated into the application server. The ITS DHTML templates were incorporated into the WAS stack, instead of being deployed on a separate application - AGATE. The design then could be shown as:

(user) --> (SAP ITS WGate) --> (SAP)

• note: in the above, the WGate is only needed if there is a firewall between the WGate and SAP, I believe that the AGate was also supported. Also, before NW04S, I believe that the AGate could (optionally still be used).