cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Excel and dotnet connector

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi All,

I'm a newbie to this area of SAP (I'm a functional consultant) but I've been researching as much as I can and just want to confirm some basic questions. I've managed to logon to SAP, call a RFC as well as call a bapi all from VS2005 express edition as well as doing this from VBA in excel.

It seems to me that I've been using SAP automation activeX type objects to be able to do this if I'm sifting through all the terminology correctly! I don't remember ever adding any additional components to enable this. I obviously have SAP GUI already though.

I would like to enhance my knowledge in the area of creating applications (specifically to be run from Excel) and want to ensure that I start at the right place.

Am I correct in saying that the easiest/quickest way to do this is to create these in VS2003 professional (this one works with the latest dotnet connector) using dotnet connector 2.0.1?

If so I'm not sure how I will run the application I create in VS2003 from Excel but I'll get there. I just need to know that VS2003 professional and dotnet connector is the way to go or do I just carry on with the activeX type objects I've succeeded with so far?

It looks to me like this is SAP's development path.

Thanks in advance,

Grant.

Accepted Solutions (0)

Answers (2)

Answers (2)

Former Member
0 Kudos

Thanks Jitesh,

I'm leaning towards option 3 so far as performance will be very important. I know permissions on the user calling the RFC could be a bit of an issue though. I will have to work out exactly what permissions this user would need. I also think from a product perspective it would then be enabled both in Excel 2003 and Excel 2007.