cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

SOA

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi Everybody...

Can any one explain in detail How the SAP's approach for SOA is different from IBM and Oracle.

Regards

Accepted Solutions (0)

Answers (2)

Answers (2)

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hello there!

I'm new at SAP and I come from Oracle! As "funny" as it sounds I used to work for the competition, therefore I think I can tell you the differences between SAP's approach and Oracle's.

Moreover, I have recently certified IBM's Websphere modeler for SOA Suite (at college).

A few days ago, I went to an eSOA presentation here at SAP.

It's a different approach because we give web services definitions already! I mean: Oracle & IBM don't give their customers a standard definition of enterprise services for their businesses. At Oracle or IBM, you first have to identify and select a number of services that managers think relevant for their business (many months of work and many process experts working). But, on the other hand, SAP does not have BPEL directly "talking" with the process logic. In my opinion, that is a weak point.

I'll check my stuff at home (so that I can be precise) and tomorrow I'll tell you what I researched.

Regards!

Former Member
0 Kudos

welcome to the forum Maria. looking forward to your contributions.

regards, anton

Former Member
0 Kudos

It is unfortunate people asking what is the difference between SAP's SOA and other's SOA. There is not difference at all except the FACT SAP in a business computing firm and others are mainly technical firm.

Since SAP is a firm in most their past concentrated on Business Solution through their ERP modules and client server technology when they have entered into Netweaver and SOA market, they had numerous predefined enterprise services available.