cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

IS-U = Maintain Political Regional Structure

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi all,

I'm new to IS-U. As a beginner i'm facing a problem in understanding the functionality of "Maintaning the Hierarchy" in the Political Regional Structure. Can someone explain this in simple and understandable terms using a real life example if possible.

Regards,

Marvin

Accepted Solutions (1)

Accepted Solutions (1)

amit_sharma1
Explorer
0 Kudos

After a lot of time i heard something from the Regional structuring:

Well, i try to address this with a scenario; hope will be helpful:

(I assume that you are quite clear about the regional structuring here )

In the political regional structure, you model political/administrative units in an hierarchical structure. By means of the address in the postal regional structure, you can allocate elements of the political structure to IS-U master data (to the connection object or business partner, for example).

Now maintained political structuring has 2 parts:

1. Maintain hierarchy

2. Maintain elements

1>> Hierarchy is just the place holder for the elements to be maintained in the step 2, hierarchy helps to form a structure of administrative model of a country. e.g

Country = US and the administrative model of each state differs, so i'll make the hierarchy as a header of the STATE (01) followed by the rest of the structure 😆

Hierarchy :

01 state

05 county

06 city

07 city district

Based on this model, now i can generate the hierarchy for almost all the States of the US, provided they follow this hierarchal model.

here is the example of the california:

state California 00000001

cty San Francisco County 00000002

city San Francisco 00000004

city distr Sunset District 00000005

city distr Mission District 00000006

city distr Castro District 00000007

city distr Haight-Ashbury District 00000008

city distr North Beach District 00000009

city distr Richmond District 00000010