cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

SAP GUI not Starting up

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi, I am new to Basis type work. We are running Linux and SAP 5.0. Our network team expanded the file system by adding a new LUN over the past few days and now the SAP start up runs ok but the sign on screen hangs or give a message waiting for connection? Can anyone provide me with some guidance on where I can look for possible problems that may be occurring? I checked the startup and startdb logs and did not find anything unusual. Please let me know any ideas you can think of to help me diagnose this issue.

Thanks.

Accepted Solutions (1)

Accepted Solutions (1)

Former Member
0 Kudos

We are using MAXDB database and there are 2 different systems involved with this problem. One system when I click logon just hangs and I never get a sign on screen. I simply get the message "Waiting for Response". The other system when I click on it brings up the sign on screen and thats as far as I get since it hangs and never really signs on to the system.

The system id's have not changed. The only thing that changed was our network team added another LUN to these systems since I was running out of room in the File System where we keep the system backup.

markus_doehr2
Active Contributor
0 Kudos

Do you maybe have a LOG_FULL situation?

On the affected system do an

x_cons <SID> sh ac 2

and check, what the system is doing.

--

Markus

Former Member
0 Kudos

I was unable to run your command but I did run the command "x_cons TS1 SHOW ACTIVE" on the Test system and it does show the LOG FULL situation. I do not have the database manager tool on my laptop. Is using the database manager the only way to resolve this issue? Also, do you know how I might download this software to my laptop?

For the other system BW Prod I tried running the same command and I see a message stating permission denied. Any ideas/suggestions on this system?

markus_doehr2
Active Contributor
0 Kudos