cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Misc. questions about SAP's SOA software

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hello,

I am a computer science student at the Fachhochschule Aachen in Germany and I'm writing my master thesis about serviceoriented architectures.

Amongst other products I plan to present what SAP has to offer for SOA. But I'm missing some information, which I couldn't find at the website. I hope somebody can help me with my questions:

1) What are the products you need for building a basic SOA? Is the Application Server + Business Intelligence + Exchange Infrastructure enough? And how about something like an ESB? Is Exchange Infrastructure an ESB?

2) In my thesis I describe several standards that help with serviceoriented architectures. I want to check if these standards are implemented and if they are, in which product, which version and how extensively? These standards are:

- WS-Policy, WS-Adressing

- JBI (Java Business Integration)

- SCA/SDO (Service Component Architecture/Service Data Objects)

- BPEL (Business Process Execution Language)

- WS-CDL (Web Service Choreography Description Language)

Are there other important (open) standards i didn't mention (other than the real basic stuff, WSDL, SOAP etc)?

3) What tools does SAP provide for testing and debugging the services and processes?

4) What tools does SAP provide for Business Process Management? What about process modelling?

5) What support does SAP provide for new customers, that are building their first SOA?

I know there is much documentation about all this stuff, but this will take only 2-3 pages of my thesis, so I don't have time to read hundreds of pages of documentation.

Every help would be appreciated. Thanks in advance.

Accepted Solutions (1)

Accepted Solutions (1)

Former Member
0 Kudos

Ok let me try...