cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Remote Key Mapping

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hello All,

I am new to MDM and I want to know about Remote key mapping. Why and when we do Remote key mapping? What's the need of Remote key mapping?

All help greatly appreciated.

Thanks,

Varun Agarwal.

Accepted Solutions (1)

Accepted Solutions (1)

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi,

Remote key mapping trigger you have to do at Console level with yes.

When in import manager you are doing mapping from source system to destination system.

In source system you ahve to select the main table for example vendor then you have to clone this field and you ahve to map this main vendor field to destination field vendor field and reote key of destination to the clone of the vendor field.

This mapping will help you in data manager when you merge two records at that time you will get pop-up with the key mapping and with the remote system.

Hope this will help you.

Thanks,

Rohit

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi Rohit,

Thanks alot for your help. But still I have one doubt. Does this means that we use Remote Key Mapping only when we need to merge some records.

Thanks,

Varun Agarwal.

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi,

It is not like that. I just given example to see the neccesity of the key mapping.

Thanks,

Rohit

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi,

Could you please give me some more examples of Remote Key Mapping.

Thanks,

Varun.

michael_theis
Active Contributor
0 Kudos

Hi Varun,

a Remote Key in MDM is the key of the record in its original system. This information is very valuable for the different MDM scenarios.

In a consolidation scenario you load records for one or more original systems into MDM. Then you usually match and merge the records. With the remote keys you can check after the match and merge, which of your records are duplicates or identicals. This information is commonly used in BI scenarios for reporting.